FMS – It’s not in your head.

6 Jan
Albus Dumbledore :D

The Harry Potter fangirl in me couldn’t resist this quote.

 

You may have read recently that researchers have discovered what they believe to be the cause of FMS symptoms.

The discovery really is groundbreaking, but what concerns me is the tagline featured in many articles on the subject that fibromyalgia sufferers can rest assured that “it’s not all in their head.”

Unfortunately, we’re not the ones who needed the reassurance. Those of us who have FMS know that it is very real. Sadly, though, many doctors still don’t “believe in” fibro, and will hopefully believe otherwise after reading about the latest research.

I’m very fortunate never to have been told that my symptoms are “all in my head.” (Not by anyone I know, or any medical professional, that is. Trolls on the internet are the extent my experience with that kind of patronizing b.s.) My mom has FMS, and so did my father, much to the astonishment of doctors I spoke to early in my diagnosis and treatment. My family isn’t very large, either, so my support system was small, but two of them already had firsthand knowledge and experience to share with me. That also means less of a chance that a family member would dismiss my symptoms as psychosomatic. I’m very thankful to be surrounded by understanding, empathetic people who, even if they’ve never experienced something similar, want to help make life a little easier for me by helping me with physical tasks, allowing me enough rest, and just being there to listen and encourage me. I know that’s not the case for everyone with an invisible illness.

There’s a little ray of light, though, in this research, that will eventually illuminate the minds of medical professionals, and hopefully lead to better diagnoses, and fewer misdiagnoses. It may even lead to a cure, or at least a consistent form of treatment for those of us who’ve known all along that it’s not just in our heads.

Gentle hugs,

Chels

2 Responses to “FMS – It’s not in your head.”

  1. Ginger January 6, 2014 at 2:07 pm #

    I didn’t know about this! It makes me very happy and hopeful! I’m so glad you posted this, I usually search the news for fibro once a month to find the latest info, but this one I missed! I searched it after reading your post and had to dig deep, but sure enough, there are multiple reports on it. It’s a shame it isn’t easier to find, though! Yay! I am really happy and hopeful that they will be able to help is better with this information! Thanks for this post 🙂 you made my day, as I have been flaring terribly for a few days!

    • Chelsea January 6, 2014 at 6:00 pm #

      I’m so glad it made your day, Ginger! I’m sorry you’ve been flaring so badly. Our weird weather has been doing the same to me. I’m hoping this info will convince all the docs out there that FMS is real, and can be treated!

Leave a Reply

