I found my happy pill … I mean, place.

30 Oct

My last “behavioral health” appointment, or, let’s be totally clear, here – my psychiatry appointment – was three days after I found out my Dad passed away. I’m not sure if that’s really terrible or really great timing. I signed in only to find out that the doctor I’ve regularly seen over the past year no longer works in that office. In fact, the receptionist didn’t even know who he was. I was not encouraged, even if his last name is Lucky. (No kidding.)

I was glad to find out that Dr. Lucky is about the same age as my previous doctor, apparently the same temperament, and doesn’t appear to stigmatize certain medications like other doctors in the field. Frankly, the appointment is a blur, but I do remember him asking me if I felt that the combination of meds I was on was working well for my anxiety, or if I felt it could be better. I told him about the nightmares associated with the Elavil I’m taking, and that the calming effects weren’t lasting me through the day before it was time to take my next dose. He said he wanted to try a drug that’s most commonly prescribed to PTSD patients who have night terrors and nightmares, and assured me that it wouldn’t make me drowsy.

The medication is called Buspirol. Now, obviously, I’m not endorsing this medication, and I’m not giving anyone medical advice, here, but this stuff works. For me, at least. It started working right away. I took a pill before bedtime, and I woke up without remembering any hellacious or bizarre dreams. I took a pill that morning, and didn’t feel anxious before taking my next Elavil. Now, I have to say that after a few weeks on the medication, I’ve had a few strange dreams, but nothing terrifying, or that made me feel like I hadn’t slept at all.

So, what I’m saying is – I’m excited! It’s been a long time since I’ve felt “normal” throughout the day when it comes to anxiety. It couldn’t have come at a better time, either. I feel much more capable of coping with the loss of my father, and everyday stresses, including my FMS symptoms. I, quite literally, can sleep well at night.

Gentle hugs,

Chels

One Response to “I found my happy pill … I mean, place.”

  1. Ginger October 31, 2013 at 1:03 am #

    I stopped my meds as soon as I found out I was pregnant, it was really rough but a personal choice. My depression and anxiety are really starting to take over again but I’m breastfeeding so I’m still trying very hard to tough it out. I’m not sure how much longer I will be able to go though, it’s getting to the point where everyone around me can see I’m struggling 😦
    I hope this continues to work for you and can’t wait to join you on the calmer side 🙂

Leave a Reply

