Instead of dyeing Easter eggs, I dyed my hair.

31 Mar

images

Happy Easter, friends! However you’re celebrating today, I wish you joy and the love of your friends and family.

A couple of days ago, I finally plucked up the courage to dye my hair. It’s not that I haven’t dyed it before, I just stopped using mainstream dyes that use harsh chemicals a while ago, but have always wanted to dye my hair an unnatural shade, like pink, purple, or teal. Once I realized that there are vegan dyes out there in crazy colors, I toyed with the idea for a while, until Friday, when I stopped by Sally’s to pick up some Manic Panic “Purple Haze.” I chose to forego the pre-lightening/bleaching kits, and try my luck with dyeing my hair as-is. I’m happy to say that the color turned out beautifully!

001

 

Manic Panic, a product review:

Crayon colors may not be your thing, but if you’re on the fence, I think Manic Panic is a good choice. The color is semi-permanent, and since there are no harsh chemicals, there’s no strong smells to deal with. The dye also serves as its own conditioner, so there’s no need to buy other products. After following the instructions, I left the dye on my hair (covered by a snazzy plastic cap) for a little over 2 hours, since I didn’t lighten my hair beforehand. I used a tip that the site suggests, combining 1/2 cup of water with 1/2 cup vinegar to rinse with after washing the dye out.  *Fibro tip: The dye took longer to wash out than other dyes I’ve used before. Be sure to use a towel or mat under your knees or feet, and use a spray nozzle or shower head if you can.* I don’t think I saturated all of my hair equally, so there are some spots that aren’t as bright as others, but I think that’s also due to the fact that I had natural highlights at the front and top layer of my hair, which are now noticeably brighter than other areas. It gives a cool effect, though, so I’m not worried about it.

All in all, I’ll probably use this brand and color again!

Gentle hugs,

Chels

 

One Response to “Instead of dyeing Easter eggs, I dyed my hair.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Get your short on – how hair can change a life | Chelsea, like England - April 10, 2013

    […] while back, I wrote about why I decided to cut my hair very, very short. (I also recently dyed it purple, but that’s a different story.) Since I’ve made the decision to stay on the short side, […]

Leave a Reply

