.. Because I can (can-can!)

27 Mar

Every girl deserves to go to a ball.

Ok, maybe not a ball, but at least a formal, a masquerade, or a themed dance.

For me, that’s the upcoming dance here on campus, “A Night In Paris: Dance at The Moulin Rouge.”

I know – I’m so excited! Maybe you’re not as excited as I am, but that’s all right. I get to dress up, and give me an excuse to dress up and I’m there. They’re having a costume contest for best Victorian and/or Steampunk getup, so, naturally, I’m participating. I found the most lovely black Victorian-esque shirt at Thrift Town last weekend, and I already have a black bustier that I’m beading, some black velvet to make a skirt, peacock and ostrich feathers for a fascinator, and matching fabric to make a bustle, plus plenty of trim, beads, and a beautiful cameo my mom let me have. Now all I need are shoes (I think I may splurge for once,) and I need to buy or make a top hat for my honey. He’s going to wear his kilt, and I may make him a Victorian style vest.

Did I mention I’m excited?

Here are some pictures of a few of the details of my ensemble:

I’ll put up a tutorial or two later.

Remember, even if you don’t have anywhere to go, you can always put on a dress and dance in your living room!

*Update: To look at the completed costumes and other inspiration, go to my post, “An Evening in Paris.” 

Gentle hugs,

Chels

Leave a Reply

