Nicotine is gross.

21 May

I have love for lots of smokers. I know that it’s an addiction that some people don’t want to quit, and I get that it’s really hard if you do. My mom and my grandmother quit after having heart attacks, and my husband quit while we were dating.

But ew. I’m so sick today (so is my Mom, and my hubby was sick last night.) My mom and hubby are former smokers, I’m a non-smoker, and we spent several hours in a bar for the fundraiser for our friends. (Which, by the way, was a huge success – yay!) Needless to say, there was little to do to get away from the smoke. We sat right by the fan, so the majority of the smoke was being blown away from us. And we still got sick.

My mom kept saying, “I can’t believe I used to smell like that all the time. I’m going to go home and take a shower.” We all did just that, and here we are. Now, Tom never really gets sick, so when his stomach was upset last night, it caught my attention. Honestly, I figured it was probably the combo of hot dog, Frito pie, and stromboli he ate yesterday. Then I woke up this morning with an upset stomach, feeling really sick, and so did my mom. She didn’t eat any of the food we ate, so we’ve all deduced that it was the large amount of smoke/nicotine that was absorbed into our systems.

So, for those of you who smoke, please just take a moment to consider how sick you’re making yourself and others around you. I know you know that “smoking is bad.” (If you didn’t know that, welcome to 2012.) But you may not realize just how bad it is for everyone else around you. I feel nauseous, have an upset stomach, have sensitive skin, and I’m short of breath and lethargic. Today makes me so thankful that my grandmother and mom didn’t smoke around me.

Bleck.

Gentle hugs,

Chels

Leave a Reply

