There’s not a card for that. (Happy Mother’s Day!)

14 May

Happy Mother’s Day to all of the moms and moms to be out there today! I hope that if you’ve lost your mom or any mother figure that you’ve had a day filled with beautiful memories. Moms should be celebrated every day, because they’re precious, powerful, and (still!) are underestimated and taken for granted. After losing my Nana, and nearly losing my mom a couple of years ago, I know for a fact that I had taken for granted all of the knowledge and wisdom, humor, strength, skills, and faith they have lovingly and freely passed on to me.

My Nana taught me that sometimes, all you have is you and God to get through things. She taught me that no matter what hand you’re dealt in life, that you can persevere and be successful by being willing to learn and work hard. She taught me little things, too, like how to make ribbon roses, sew by hand, crochet a chain and embroider. Her sense of style still inspires me. Sometimes she taught me what not to do, like hold grudges (she did, and I think it had a lot to do with so many of the health problems she had.) Whether she meant to or not, she taught me that life is too short and fragile to hold onto anger and guilt. I love her for that.

My mom has taught me too much to list. So many of our health problems have been the same, so she’s been my medical encyclopedia, and my shoulder to lean on. She always told me to marry a man who loved me “just a little more” than I loved him, which I never understood until I got married. (It doesn’t mean I love Tom less, it just means that each time I show him love, he tries to top it.) She taught me that WD-40 can fix unknown car troubles. Actually, we may have learned that together by accident … She taught me to be fearless when it comes to trying new things – food, experiences, a new skill. She taught me that I should never be embarrassed to ask questions, and to never be ashamed to show my true colors, because they’re beautiful. She taught me that sometimes, when you do the right thing, it’s not popular, but to hold your head high anyway and continue to stand up for yourself and others. She also taught me to do silly things and enjoy life’s “little” adventures, like dancing in the rain, or getting sort of lost in a historical town that probably has some really cool mom ‘n’ pop store or antique shop that will make the trouble getting home worth it. She’s taught me that you don’t have to be a bad product of a bad environment, and that you have a choice to do something good with the pain you’ve experienced, rather than continuing the cycle. The list goes on and on. I could never thank my mom enough for everything she’s done to help make me the person I am and that I’m still learning to be.

No Hallmark card can cover all that. (I know, because I worked in a Hallmark store.) Sure, the cards Tom and I sent to my mom and his mom were sweet, and thought went into choosing the right ones, but it just doesn’t cut it. We should be telling our moms every chance we get, in every way we can, that we love them and appreciate them for all of the work they put into saturating us with enough knowledge and general human decency before we got thrust into the real world. Because that’s where we find out that when they said “you’ll thank me when you’re older,” that we really are thankful. So, we should probably mention it.

Thank you, Mom. I love you.

Gentle hugs,

Chels

P.S. – The cute vintage tattoo style clipart up there is free. Use it to “tattoo” your mom on a card, a picture, in a scrapbook or collage, a memory box, or whatever else you can think of to send her and brighten her day.

Leave a Reply

