Defining Fibromyalgia

3 May

This is one of the best lists I’ve seen so far (although, I’d never heard of ADD being associated with FMS.)

Gentle hugs,
Chels

4 Responses to “Defining Fibromyalgia”

  1. Ginger May 4, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

    I have heard ADD being associated with it and I am concidering being evaluated. I also heard that some Fibro sufferers are prescribed an ADD med (I think Adderall) to help with energy levels. One thing for sure is that we know our brains are easily distractable and sometimes very unfocused, it makes me wonder.. What came first, the chicken or the egg?

    • Chelsea May 4, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      That’s exactly what I was thinking when I read it as a symptom – chicken vs. egg. You learn something new every day with Fibro. It makes sense to me that ADD would go along with it, especially with the new research showing the neurological side to fibro. I don’t feel like I have ADD symptoms, but I definitely have OCPD symptoms (obsessive compulsive personality disorder,) which, combined with the brainfog can definitely be distracting. I hope you get that evaluation, Ginger!

      • Ginger May 5, 2012 at 12:36 am #

        It actually goes hand and hand with a lot of mental disorders… depression, bpd, OCD, and ADD to name the few I know of… I think a lot of ‘mites become defensive when told to seek a mental health professional, but they don’t see it in the correct meaning.
        I don’t mean to say everyone with Fibro has underlying psychiatric problems, but in my case, after I got passed the “offense” and actually sought out therapy, I received (unfortunately) more diagnoses, which helped me come to a new level of positive direction. I’ve found that through therapy I am learning to not only deal with the pain of Fibro, but I am also understanding how much my emotional state is effecting the condition.
        There is still so much to be learned..

      • Chelsea May 5, 2012 at 12:54 am #

        Good for you! Therapy is a wonderful thing. I’ve been through it several times over the years, and still use the tools I’ve acquired from it. I’m actually seeking out a therapist right now. For some reason, I just never associated Fibro with ADD (depression, bpd, OCD/OCPD, yes, but ADD slipped my mind.) I love that JPS (the hospital whose program I’m using) refers to their mental health department as “behavioral health.” I like to joke that they’re trying to take the “mental” out of “mental health.”

Leave a Reply

